Surreal

I guess there is a first time for everything. In my 40s, I actually have a girlfriend for the first time. A woman actually put up with me for more than a couple dates and really wants to be with me. It did not really seem likely ever to happen. It did not seem like she would be the one to land that position.

So this is unchartered territory for me. In a land I never expected to need to explore. (Well, not since my teens.) So, this ought to be an interesting adventure.

My imposter syndrome screams that Fiona* still has no idea what she is getting into because she is high on oxytocin and dopamine and long deprived of them. Once those wear off, she will realize her mistake.

One thought on “Surreal

  1. I felt this way when my husband and I first started dating and he was genuinely interested in me. Sometimes I still wonder when the other shoe is going to drop, and we’ve been married 6 1/2 years.

Leave a Reply

