Jinxed

I tend to sit on newsworthy things. Like, I know people who post photos when they buy a house. Me? I updated the people to which I had discussed it. But, in general it was a topic I avoided making a topic. And, I became annoyed with people who expanded the circle of people who knew.

Part of it, is privacy. I avoid telling people where I live other than generalities unless they need to know. And they ask.

The larger part is wanting to avoid jinxing it. I really did not want to tell people I was going through the process only to be denied. Or something else to happen that made it not happen. I would attribute the failure to having bragged about it before it was real.

I was in a similar mindset about my current job and the prior job to move here. Our positions have a six month probation period where we can fire new hires for any reason, so I felt for almost a year that either I would not get the job or the offer would be rescinded or they would fire me.

 

Leave a Reply

